Ṣār as a verb:

The word صار، يصير ṣār, yiṣīr is one of the most commonly used verbs in Levantine Arabic. It’s basic meaning is “to become” or “to happen.” In these cases it conjugates normally as a “hollow” verb.

شو صار معك امبارح ʃū ṣār maʕak imbāriħ?

“What happened to you yesterday?”

البنت صارت مرة ᵊl-binᵊt ṣārit mara

“The girl has become a woman.”

ابني بدو يصير دكتور ibnī biddu yiṣīr duktōr

“My son wants to become a doctor.”

Ṣār as a particle:

This word can also be paired with certain verbal phrases to indicate a change from one state to another. In these cases it does not conjugate; it remains صار ṣār regardless of the number or gender of the subject.

صار بدي نام ṣār biddī nām

“Now I want to sleep.” (… but before I didn’t want to)

صار عندي سيارة ṣār ʕindī sayyāra

“I got a car” (I have a car now, but previously I didn’t)

صار لازم نطلع ṣār lāzim niṭlaʕ

“We’ve got to go now.”