Levantine Dialect often distinguishes between verbs that express action and those that express state. Action verbs are conjugated normally, while static verbs are based on the active pronoun (اسم فاعل).

بهاديك الفترة كنت عارف انو رح انجح bhādīk il-fatra kinʕārif innu raħ injaħ

“In that time I knew I was going to succeed.”

بهاديك اللحظة عرفت مين هو القاتل bhādīk il-laħẓa ʕrifᵉt mīn huwwe il-qātil

“In that moment I found out who the killer was.”

امبارح كنت لابس قميص ازرق imbāriħ kinᵉt lābis qamīṣ azraq

“Yesterday I was wearing a blue shirt.”

اليوم الصبح فقت ولبست تيابي il-yōm iṣ-ṣubħ lbist ᵉtyābī

“This morning I woke up and put on my clothes.”

As can be seen in the examples, English uses different words to differentiate action and state, while Arabic does so in the grammar. Note that this doesn’t apply to all verbs, but it is something to look out for.